When I Loved a Girl

I loved a girl

I loved her in the mornings

when she would sit on the edge of my bed

and reach her arms up in an earth-shaking stretch.

I loved her in the shower

where she would hold her hands together

as if in prayer

and blow bubbles out of her lemongrass body wash

I loved her in the kitchen

where smells of coffee mixed with the smell of her gorgeous skin

I loved her when she worked in the garden

her long black hair tied up in impossible knots

flashes of skin peeking out as she reached deep into the raised beds

I loved her after

when lemongrass, sweat, dirt and sun all culminated into a beautiful perfume

swirling and encompassing me

while she held me against the wall

licking her lips and driving me insane

The scent

The sight

The taste of the air around her

I loved a girl

I loved her until the day she took her last breath

I loved her until she lay in my bed

covered in her own blood and vomit

I loved her until they put her in a black bag and took her away

I loved her until the put her in the ground

I loved her until she stole my very last hope from me

I loved a girl.

Leave a Reply

